Ewing NJ Marijuana Possession Lawyer

Possession of 50 Grams or Less of Marijuana in Ewing Township

One of the more common criminal offenses dealt with in Ewing New Jersey is possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana. The charge is so prevalent not only because of the popularity of marijuana in general terms but also because the College of New Jersey (“TCNJ”) is located in Ewing Township. If you were arrested and charged with possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana or, worse yet, for possessing more than 50 grams, you need to call a lawyer immediately. A conviction for this offense carries serious penalties that include a mandatory driver’s license suspension, jail and fines. And this is on top of a criminal record for drug possession in Ewing that will follow you around for years. Our team of former prosecutors and skilled attorneys will insure that you escape these consequences and have decades of experience appearing in Ewing and at the Superior Court in this capacity. To speak to a lawyer immediately about the circumstances that led to your arrest, contact our office anytime 24/7. A free consultation is a telephone call away at 609–683–8102.

Marijuana Possession

In New Jersey, the possession of marijuana is a criminal offense under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10. This is primarily because the drug is a Schedule I controlled dangerous substance (“CDS”). You violate this law if you possess marijuana in any quantity but the penalties that are triggered hinge on the quantity held at the time of your arrest.

Under subsection (a)(3) of 2C:35-10, it is fourth degree crime, a felony, to possess more than 50 grams of marijuana. Charges of this nature fall outside local court authority and must be forwarded to the Mercer County Superior Court in Trenton for disposition. Cases involving 50 grams or less of marijuana result in a disorderly persons offense for possession under subsection (a)(4). This variety of marijuana charges falls within the jurisdiction of the Ewing Municipal Court.

Penalties. A disorderly persons offense for possessing 50 grams or less results in a fine of up to $1,000 and up to six months in jail. A fourth degree crime carries up to 18 months in state prison and a fine of up to $25,000. Those convicted of either variety of possession of marijuana are also subject to a license suspension of 6-24 months. If an individual is charged with the possession of any amount of marijuana in a school zone, which is defined as any area within 1,000 feet of school property, he or she faces an additional fine and must serve 100 hours of community service. An entirely different law and set of penalties apply an individual sells, distributes or is in possession with intent to distribute marijuana. You can click here to learn more about marijuana distribution charges.

Ewing Marijuana Possession Attorneys

The team of criminal attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall have extensive experience for successful handling of your Ewing marijuana possession charge. Indeed, we have handled thousands of disorderly persons offenses under 2C:35-10 with success and are prepared to do what it takes to avoid a conviction for you. If you would like to take advantage of a free consultation with an attorney on our team, call us at 609–683–8102. An initial consultation with a lawyer is available immediately so do not hesitate to contact us.

Contact Us

  1. 1 Free Consultation - Available 24/7
  2. 2 Over 200 Years of Combined Experience
  3. 3 Former County & Municipal Prosecutors

Fill out the contact form or call us at (855) 450-8310 to schedule your free consultation.

Leave Us a Message