Trenton Simple Assault Attorney

Charged With Simple Assault in the City of Trenton

One of the most common charges handled in Trenton Municipal Court is simple assault. The offense can arises under a virtually endless number of scenarios and this probably explains why hundreds of simple assault charges are filed in the City of Trenton every year. The charge encompasses situations of both intentional and unintended physical contact, not to mention instances where no one was even touched. The simple assault lawyers at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall are equipped to effectively defend you irrespective of the circumstances that resulted in your being charged in Trenton New Jersey. Our attorneys have over a century of combined legal experience that includes time spent working in the offices of prosecutors throughout the state. An attorney who is equipped to create a comprehensive defense that will allow you to get charges drastically reduced or dismissed entirely is available to assist you. Contact us at 609–683–8102 for a free consultation with a lawyer at the firm.

Simple Assault Offense in Trenton New Jersey

In accordance with N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1, simple assault is a disorderly persons offenses except where it is the result of a mutually agreed upon fight in which case it is a petty disorderly persons offense. The offense results when an individual: (1) purposely, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; (2) negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or (3) attempts by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury. Under N.J.S.A. 2C:11-1,”bodily injury” is defined as physical pain, illness or any impairment of physical condition and “deadly weapon” means any object capable of producing death or serious bodily injury. When an incident of simple assault involves a victim who is a police officer, a charge is enhanced to aggravated assault. The same is true if the victim sustains serious bodily injury or significant bodily injury in the incident.

Jurisdiction. Simple assault falls within the jurisdiction of the Trenton Municipal Court. Aggravated assault is an indictable crime of the second degree, third degree or fourth degree which falls within the authority of the Mercer County Superior Court.

Penalties. A simple assault charge in Trenton results in a fine of up to $1,000 and up to six months in the county jail. Aggravated assault results in a fine of up to $10,000 and 18 months in prison for a fourth degree, $15,000 and up to 5 years in prison for a third degree and $150,000 and 5-10 years in prison for a second degree.

Diversion Programs. When someone is a first time offender facing a simple assault offense, they may apply to have their case diverted through the Condition Dismissal program. Pretrial Intervention applies when a first time offender is charged with aggravated assault in Trenton.

Trenton Simple Assault Defense Lawyer

If you are facing Trenton simple assault charges, you should seek legal advice from a knowledgeable defense lawyer immediately. Without representation by an experience lawyer you run the risk of facing escalated charges that can negatively affect your future. Here at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, our attorneys will fight to secure the very best outcome in your simple assault case in the municipal court of Trenton or aggravated assault at the county courthouse. To learn the particulars about how we can help you by speaking to a lawyer immediately, call 609–683–8102.

Contact Us

  1. 1 Free Consultation - Available 24/7
  2. 2 Over 200 Years of Combined Experience
  3. 3 Former County & Municipal Prosecutors

Fill out the contact form or call us at (855) 450-8310 to schedule your free consultation.

Leave Us a Message