Trenton Harassment Defense Attorney
Have you or someone close to you been charged with harassment in Trenton New Jersey. If so, it is important that you begin working with a competent defense attorney to address the situation. Harassment is a serious crime that can result in your being incarcerated and issuance of a restraining order if the incident arose out of some form of domestic relationship. In addition to direct penalties and consequences, you will have a criminal record that can irreparably effect you. No matter how minor you feel the charge may be, or how frivolous you think the initial complaint was, it is therefore important that you effectively defend the charge and a skilled lawyer is your best weapon in this mission.
The lawyers at Marshall Bonus Proetta & Oliver include former prosecutors and other skilled attorneys who have handled hundreds, if not thousands, of harassment offenses over the last 2o years. In fact, our team of lawyers has over 100 years of combined experience defending harassment and related charges like stalking, disorderly conduct, simple assault and criminal mischief. We certainly have the level of experience you need and are committed to secure the very best outcome on your behalf. Call us at 609–683–8102 for a free consultation with an attorney on our staff.Harassment Offense in Trenton New Jersey
The New Jersey law regarding harassment is contained at N.J.S.A. 2C:33-4. Under this statute, a conviction for harassment is a disorderly persons offense, the equivalent of a misdemeanor, that carries penalties and collateral consequences that are potentially life altering. A harassment offense can arise under any number of scenarios under 2C:33-2 provided the actor possesses a purpose to harass. If this intent exists, just about any conduct has causes significant annoyance or alarm including: (1) communications that are made anonymously, during extremely inconvenient hours, that are offensively coarse or are otherwise likely cause annoyance or alarm; (2) striking, kicking, shoving or offensive touching; or (3) a course of alarming or repeated conduct. Communications forming a basis for harassment can be made via text, email, social media (e.g. facebook, snap chat, twitter, etc.), face to face or over the telephone/cell phone.
If found guilty of harassment in Trenton Municipal Court, you are subject to an array of penalties and other secondary ramifications. A fine of up to $500 may be imposed along with a term of probation, restitution, community service, counseling or even up to 30 days in the Mercer County jail. If the offense is committed by someone who is on probation, parole or serving a term of imprisonment for an indictable crime (e.g. first, second, third or fourth degree), a harassment charge is enhanced ot a fourth degree crime. Fourth degree harassment results in a fine of up to $10.000.00 and 18 months in state prison. All of these penalties may be averted if you successfully gain admission into either the Conditional Dismissal or Pretrial Intervention Program.Trenton Harassment Lawyer
As attorneys who are highly experienced in defending harassment charges in Trenton, we certainly understand how facts can be exaggerated or even totally fabricated. Arguments with coworkers, disagreements with an ex-spouse, or a problem with a neighbor are all common scenarios for an accusation of harassment but that does not mean that you are actual guilty of an offense under 2C:33-4. A lawyer will certainly make sure this is made clear to the prosecutor and municipal court judge in Trenton. You can count on our persuasively introducing every possible defense as lawyers have handled countless charges of this nature over the last two decades. To speak to an attorney immediately about your case without obligation, contact the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall now at 609–683–8102.