Juvenile Drug Possession
If your child has been charged with New Jersey drug possession, you may feel anxious, upset, and stressed. What should you do first? What can you do to protect their future? It can be extremely difficult to navigate the Mercer County juvenile court system in Trenton and a highly skilled New Jersey juvenile attorney is a must. The lawyers at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall can truly make all the difference in your child’s future. An attorney from our firm will make sure you understand exactly what your child is facing, and that you are able to make the best decisions on his or her behalf. Our lawyers will work hard on behalf of you and your child utilizing our 100 plus years of combined experience, including insight gained serving as prosecutors. In the end, consulting with an experienced juvenile criminal defense attorney on our team can make a significant difference in the outcome of your child’s case. Contact our office anytime 24/7 for a free consultation.The Potential Outcome of Your Child’s Drug Possession Charge
It is highly likely that your child will be charged as a juvenile, unless his or her drug possession charges are considered serious enough to charge as an adult. Although the juvenile justice process differs considerably from the adult legal process, many of the penalties can be the same. Your child’s offense will be brought into the family court, in the county where you reside, and the proceeding will be closed to the public (only those involved in the drug charges are allowed to be present). Once a complaint is filed against your child, it will be determined if the complaint will be referred to juvenile conference committee or sent to the Juvenile Part of the Family Division in Trenton for adjudication. If your child’s case goes to the juvenile division of family court, it will be heard by a judge, rather than a jury. You will be required to hire an attorney or qualify for a public defender since New Jersey Law requires that minors be represented whenever they appear in court.
The most common drug and CDS possession offense heard in Trenton involves 50 grams or less of marijuana. This is a disorderly persons offense, along with possession of drug paraphernalia. This grade of juvenile charge can result in up to 6 months of detention although this outcome is extremely rare. A deferred disposition or regular probation are the typical outcome. In cases involving juveniles possessing more serious drugs like cocaine, heroin, MDMA, LSD and prescription legend drugs, the potential for detention is more significant. If you possess CDS resulting in a third degree crime, a period of up to 2 years of detention may be imposed. A fourth degree crime for possessing drugs carries up to 1 year in detention. If your child is found guilty of marijuana possession on a school property, or within 1,000 feet of a property used for school purposes, he or she could face a required minimum of 100 hours of community service, in addition to other court-imposed penalties.Trenton Juvenile CDS Possession Lawyer
As you can see, there can be extremely harsh consequences for juvenile drug possession. If your son or daughter possessed CDS and is facing a juvenile charge, hiring a skilled defense attorney is an absolute necessity. In fact, you have no discretion as to whether a lawyer as every child appearing at the Juvenile Part in Trenton must have representation. The lawyers at our firm will make sure your child’s future is not derailed. Call us at 609–683–8102 for a free consultation with an attorney at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall. Attorneys are available around the clock to assist you.