You might assume that an offense for possession or distribution of lysergic acid diethylamide, commonly referred to as LSD, is a rare occurrence in Mercer County but this is not the case. LSD falls into the category of a psychedelic drug and this form of controlled dangerous substance (“CDS”) is extremely popular with teenagers and young adults. The presence of three major colleges, Princeton University in Princeton, TCNJ in Ewing Township and Rider University in Lawrence, as well as numerous preparatory schools, is definitely a factor in the number of LSD charges. If you or your child has been charged with possession of LSD, you need to consult a qualified defense attorney since you are facing a felony criminal offense that exposes you to prison and other significant penalties. Your need for a skilled defense lawyer is even more dire if the charge involves distribution of LSD. The attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall are capable of providing the level of representation that you need with over a century of combined experience defending clients at the Mercer County Superior Court in Trenton. Our former prosecutors other highly knowledgeable lawyers represent clients throughout the region including Trenton, Princeton, Ewing, Lawrence and Hamilton. Call our firm at 609–683–8102 for an immediate free consultation.LSD Possession Offense in Mercer County New Jersey
Possession of LSD is a third degree crime under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10. This grade of offense is indictable in nature so this means that your case will have to be heard at the court courthouse which is located in Trenton New Jersey. It also means that you will have a felony record if it is found that you possessed LSD, a Schedule I controlled dangerous substance (“CDS”). A conviction for possessing this drug results in a fine of up to $35,000 and a state prison term of up to 5 years. In addition, you are subject to a driver’s license suspension of 6-24 years at the time of sentencing.LSD Distribution Charge in Trenton
Distribution of LSD is also a felony although this conduct is criminalizes under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-5, a different law than the one for personal possession. Unlike just about every other drug/cds outlawed in the state, distribution of LSD does not start off as a third degree crime for the lowest quantity distributed but rather from the grade of a second degree crime. This demonstrates just how serious lawmakers, police and the Mercer County Prosecutor’s Office views those who sell acid. Under subsection a(6) of 2C:35-5, it is first degree crime to sell, distribute or possess with the intent to distribute 100 milligrams or more of LSD. The penalties for this violation include a fine of up to $500,000 and a prison term of 10-20 years. Distribution of less than 100 milligrams of LSD is a second degree crime that carries 5-10 years in prison and a fine of up to $150,000. The same 6-24 suspension of driving privileges must be imposed at the time of sentencing for selling/distributing LSD.Ewing Township LSD Charge
As the home of a public university with approximately 7,500 students, as well as having its own municipal population of about 35,000 residents, Ewing has its share of LSD charges. That is not to say that towns like East Windsor, Hopewell Township, Robbinsville, Hightstown and Pennington do not have the opportunity for incidents of individuals possessing or even distributing LSD. Irrespective of where you were arrested, the key is to hire a lawyer with the skill to protect you against a conviction and the extreme penalties that apply under 2C:35-10 and 2C:35-5. This is where the attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall can prove to be instrumental. Our former prosecutors and skilled attorneys have decades of experience battling LSD and other drug offenses and certainly have what it takes to help you. Call our office at 609–683–8102 to speak to a defense attorney on our staff immediately.