If you have been charged with a DWI in Hopewell New Jersey it is important you consider hiring an experienced and knowledgeable drunk driving lawyer if you want to have any chance of winning your case. A conviction for DWI in New Jersey carries severe penalties even for a first offense which includes mandatory loss of license, driving classes (IDRC), surcharges and fines. Moreover, for a second offense or third offense the court can impose mandatory penalties such as jail time, community service, and the installation of an interlock device. It is also important to note that if you are suspended in New Jersey for a DUI you cannot obtain a temporary or work license. The lawyers at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall possess qualifications such as training on the operation of the Alcotest machine and instructor certification of the Standard Field Sobriety Testing (SFST) which allow us to critically evaluate the factors of your case. Feel free to contact us today at (609) 683-8102 for an initial consultation with one of our attorneys at no charge.Hopewell DWI Charge
If you have been arrested for DUI in Hopewell then you will be required to appear in the Hopewell Borough Municipal Court or Hopewell Township Municipal Court. There is no plea bargaining allowed for driving while intoxicated in New Jersey so the prosecutor cannot willfully amend or downgrade your drunk driving ticket or refusal charges like they will normally do with a speeding ticket or even a disorderly persons offense. Therefore, the municipal prosecutor will take a hard stance on the charges and seek to prosecute it to the furthest extent allowed. In order to successfully lower or dismiss a DWI an experienced attorney must closely analyze all the evidence in your matter and formulate an aggressive and thorough defense that casts a reasonable doubt on certain elements of the state’s case so that the state can not establish their burden. For instance, it is the state’s burden to prove that every step was performed correctly in the administration of the Alcotest machine and that the machine was working properly. By pinpointing weaknesses with the state’s case, our defense lawyers are commonly able to suppress the DWI breath readings from coming into evidence. As a rule of thumb, this will substantially weaken the state’s case and lower the potential suspension time you will be facing. Thereafter, the charge will only based on the officers observations and how you performed on the field sobriety tests at the scene. If you are interested in hiring an attorney for your DUI case in Hopewell New Jersey then contact us at (609) 683-8102 to discuss the details of your case absolutely free of charge.How to Handle Your DUI Charge
Time is of the essence for every DWI offense and its best to contact and retain an experienced DUI lawyer as soon as possible. It is important to note that the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) has issued a directive that states all drunk driving cases should be resolved within 60 days. This is extremely difficult and complicated because it usually takes weeks or even months to obtain all material discovery (evidence) and then review it and prepare a defense. Because of the complexity and sheer volume of discovery in the average DWI case the matter may continue well over the 60 day deadline but only for good reason such as outstanding discovery, pending motions or trial. By bringing a lawyer into the case late you are putting yourself at a huge disadvantage since your attorney may not have the time or resources available to them investigate every avenue and properly prepare an adequate defense.