DWI in a School Zone

Ewing NJ School Zone DWI Lawyer

A DWI offense gets more risky when it is committed in a school zone. The penalties escalate significantly from what normally apply for a charge of driving while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs. If you were arrested in Ewing, Hamilton, Princeton, Lawrenceville, East Windsor or another area municipality for DWI in a school zone, you need to consult a qualified defense lawyer as soon as possible. A school zone DWI offense carries mandatory jail for even a first offense so avoiding a conviction is imperative to your welfare. The attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall can help you in this respect with former prosecutors and other seasoned litigators who have been handling drunk driving related charges in Mercer County for over a century between us. To speak to an attorney in a free consultation anytime 24/7, contact us at 609–683–8102.

School Zone DWI Offense in Mercer County New Jersey

In 1999, the penalties were enhanced in New Jersey for someone convicted of DWI within 1000 feet of school property. This variety of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 charge is referred to as DWI in a School Zone. Commission of driving while intoxicated carries increased fines, license suspension, community service and jail when it occurs in this “zone”. These enhancements for DWI committed in a school zone are collectively known as “Filomena’s Law.” It is important to keep in mind that it is unnecessary for a motorist to know or intend to operate his or her vehicle in a school zone for these penalties to apply. There also is no requirement that children be present or that school even be in session for a school zone violation to be triggered. As long as the offense is committed within the 1,000 foot zone protected by this law, the enhanced penalties outlined in 39:4-50(g) apply.

Fines & Other Monetary Penalties. For a first offense, the mandatory fine is $606 to $1006 along with a $100 surcharge payable to Drug Driving Enforcement Fund, a $50 assessment to the Victims of Crimes Compensation Board, $75 assessment to the Safe Neighborhoods Services Fund and in $33 costs of court. The fine increases to $1,006 to $2,006 for a second offense and $2,006 for a third offense.

License Suspension. The license suspension is 1-2 years for a first offense, at least 4 years for a second offense and 20 years for a third offense.

Jail Term. An individual is required to serve up to 60 days in jail for a first offense, up to 180 days for a second offense and a mandatory 180 days for a third offense.

Hamilton NJ DWI In A School Zone Attorney

Hamilton ranks second to only Trenton in DWI offenses in Mercer County so it naturally makes sense that it has its share of school zone charges annually. If you have been charged with a school zone DWI in Hamilton, West Windsor, Ewing, Robbinsville, Trenton or another local town, hiring a skilled attorney is a must. You will need a successful defense in order to escape the mandatory penalties under 39:4-50(g) and the lawyers at our firm have the skill to assist you in this role. Call our office for an immediate free consultation with a lawyer who will take the time to thoroughly explore all the facts and potential defenses. We are available any time of day or night at 609–683–8102.

Additional DWI Resources

Mercer County Towns Served

DWI PenaltiesLawrence Township DWI Attorney
Breath Test RefusalWest Windsor DWI Lawyers
Marijuana DWI OffenseTrenton NJ DWI Lawyer
First Offense DWIHamilton NJ DWI Lawyer
Alcotest Breath MachineEwing DWI Attorneys
Driving Under the Influence of DrugsEast Windsor NJ DWI Attorney

Contact Us

  1. 1 Free Consultation - Available 24/7
  2. 2 Over 200 Years of Combined Experience
  3. 3 Former County & Municipal Prosecutors

Fill out the contact form or call us at (855) 450-8310 to schedule your free consultation.

Leave Us a Message